Baptist New Testament Commentary - Volume 2 - Hebrews & James

HPB Publishing


*Price and SKU are subject to change based on your Personalization options.

HPB Publishing
6-1/4 x 9-1/4 x 1"
Number of Pages:
Format Format: Required
Current Stock:

Updated Price:



The Epistle to the Hebrews is one of the most difficult books in the New Testament to understand and interpret. An understanding of the Law of Moses, and especially, the book of Leviticus is fundamental to the proper interpretation and sacrifices of the Old Testament.

Though it is a difficult book to understand, it is one of the richest books to study. Just like any other book of the Bible, a proper understanding of the Scripture requires at least two factors. First, an individual repentance toward God and personal faith in the Lord Jesus Christ (1 Cor. 2:14-16), and second, a person must depend on the guidance of the Holy Spirit through His ministry of spiritual illumination (John 16:13).

The book of James has been classified as a general epistle in the canon of New Testament Scripture. The words “general epistles” are used in contrast to “church epistles” or “pastoral epistles.” James addressed his book to “the twelve tribes scattered abroad” (James 1:1).

This is vastly different from the writings of Paul who wrote to churches at particular, specific locations, such as “to all that be in Rome” (Romans 1:7), “Unto the church of God which is at Corinth” (1 Corinthians 1:2), and “unto the churches of Galatia” (Galatians 1:2). While the book of James is general as to the location of the recipients, it is very specific in its teachings.

Baptist New Testament Commentary Series:
The Baptist New Testament Commentary is a series of verse-by-verse commentaries of the King James Version Bible. This commentary is based entirely on the King James Version Bible, using the Received Text for all renderings. It is the passion project of 12 different authors, an editorial staff, and support staff of HPB Publications (of Hyde Park Missionary Baptist Church).

About the Authors

Featuring the following 12 Volumes:
Volume 1 - Acts
Volume 2 - Hebrews & James
Volume 3 - Galatians & Ephesians
Volume 4 - I & II Corinthians
Volume 5 - I & II Timothy, Titus, Philemon
Volume 6 - I & II Peter, I, II, III John, Jude
Volume 7 - Philippians, Colossians and 1 & 2 Thessalonians
Volume 8 - Matthew
Volume 9 - John
Volume 10 - Mark and Luke
Volume 11 - Romans
Volume 12 - Revelation